My Account

Close

 

 

My Account

Check your library account, renew or reserve library materials.

Remember to logout your account before closing browser!

Ask a Librarian

Top

Close the menuOpen the menu
close
Temporary Suspension of "Ask a Librarian" Service

The “Ask a Librarian” service will be suspended for system maintenance from 1:00 a.m. to 8:00 a.m. on 28 August 2014. Please email your reference enquiry to hkcl_ref@lcsd.gov.hk during this period. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Introduction

  1. The UNESCO Public Library Manifesto proclaims the belief in the public library as a living force for education, culture and information, and as an essential agent for the fostering of peace and spiritual welfare through the minds of men and women. The provision of public library service in Hong Kong is the responsibility of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department. The Department aims to provide public library services to meet the community's need for knowledge, information and research, to support life-long learning, continuous education and profitable use of leisure time, and to promote local literary arts. The Hong Kong Public Libraries aims to serve the public in the following ways:

    • as an information centre where information and the latest development on all subject disciplines are freely and readily available to the public;
    • as a tool for self-education and continuing education through resource-based learning;
    • as a centre for the promotion of literary arts and literary research in Hong Kong to cultivate public interest in creative writing and literary research, to encourage and promote literary writing, preserve Hong Kong literature, and promote cultural exchange;
    • as a source of enjoyment for the profitable use of leisure where library materials may be borrowed for home use; and
    • as a source for the enrichment of everyday living where members of the public may learn about current affairs, hobbies, and leisure pursuits.

  2. The Hong Kong Public Libraries provides a network of 67 static libraries and 12 mobile libraries. They are evenly spread over the territory of Hong Kong and interconnected by an integrated automated library system to provide convenient access to a wide range of library services for people of all age groups and walks of life. The library collection has 12.47 million items, including books, audio-visual materials, newspapers, periodicals, CD-ROM databases, microforms and maps. Some of these library materials may be borrowed whilst others are for use in the libraries.

     

  3. The extensive use of information technology improved the efficiency in delivering library services, enhance and speed up access to the library collections and optimize use of available staff resources. The automated library system is one of the largest computerised library systems in the world with Chinese and English capabilities. Through the Library Catalogue terminals, Internet facilities and multimedia terminals, information in electronic and multimedia formats has fast become an integral part of the library's resources. Remote access to library services including telephone and web renewal service, online reservation service and email enquiry service gives the public greater convenience than ever before.

  4. Comprehensive reference and information services are provided in the City Hall, Kowloon, Ping Shan Tin Shui Wai, Sha Tin, Tsuen Wan and Tuen Mun Public Libraries where a large collection of local studies materials, general reference materials, electronic databases and special collections are held and access to online databases and the Internet are provided to satisfy readers need for information. The Hong Kong Central Library is noted for its most extensive reference collections, amongst which are the depository collections of major international organisations and the legal depository collection of Hong Kong.

  5. Extension Activities form an integral part of library services. The educational and recreational programmes such as reading programmes, storytelling for children, book displays, exhibitions and subject talks organised throughout the year at the libraries all contribute to promote the use of library facilities, inculcate life-long reading habits and to enhance the public appreciation of the importance of free access to up-to-date information. The libraries also play an active role in promoting literary arts in Hong Kong. Literary awards and competitions, the Hong Kong Literature Festival and a wide range of literary activities are regularly organised.

  6. The year 2001 was an important landmark for the public library service in Hong Kong. The construction of the Hong Kong Central Library at Moreton Terrace, Causeway Bay, was completed. The Library was open to the public on 17 May 2001 and it is now the largest public library in Hong Kong with a capacity of holding 2 million items of library materials. Equipped with state-of-the-art technologies and digital library facilities, the Library is also the administrative headquarters and the main library of the Hong Kong public library network as well as the major information centre for Hong Kong. In addition to standard library facilities and services, the Library provides a central reference library of 6 subject departments, a toy library, a young adult library and hiring facilities comprising an exhibition gallery and a lecture theatre.

ENG字型大小:最小 (A)字型大小:原設定 (A)字型大小:最大 (A) 香港公共圖書館YouTube頻道

我的帳戶

關閉

 

 

我的帳戶

查閱您的圖書館帳戶、續借或預約圖書館資料。

請緊記在關閉瀏覽器視窗前,先要登出你的帳戶。

向圖書館館長查詢

頁首

關閉此菜單開啟此菜單

簡介

  1. 根據「聯合國教科文組織公共圖書館宣言」中所載的信念,公共圖書館是開展教育、傳播文化和提供資訊的有力工具,也是在市民的思想中,樹立和平觀念和豐富精神生活的重要工具。香港的公共圖書館服務由「康樂及文化事務署」提供,以配合社會人士對知識、資訊、自學進修及善用餘暇的需求,以及推廣本港的文學藝術。香港公共圖書館的目標是以下列方式為市民提供服務:

    • 作為資訊中心,為公眾人士提供免費設施,俾能輕易獲取有關各學科及其最新發展的資料;
    • 作為持續教育的工具,讓市民利用圖書館資源去自學進修;
    • 作為推廣香港文學活動和文學研究的中心,促進市民對文學創作和研究的興趣,鼓勵和推廣文學寫作,發展和保存香港文學,以及促進文化交流;
    • 作為消閒去處,讓市民外借館藏回家享用,善用餘暇;
    • 作為社區文化中心,舉辦均衡及以圖書館資源為本的活動,為不同年齡的讀者提供資訊、娛樂和消遣及為日常生活增添姿采。

  2. 現時的公共圖書館系統由67 間固定圖書館、12 間流動圖書館組成。這些不同規模及類型的服務點平均分佈於香港境內每個區域,並且經由圖書館自動化系統連接起來,為不同年齡及不同界別的讀者提供簡便快捷的多元化公共圖書館服務。圖書館的館藏共有1,247 萬項,當中包括書籍、視聽資料、報章、期刊、唯讀光碟數據庫、縮微資料及地圖等,涵蓋各個學科的廣闊知識領域。部分的館藏可供讀者外借,其餘的則存放於館內作讀者參考之用。

     

  3. 資訊科技的廣泛應用,大大提高了圖書館服務的效率,令讀者在更有效快捷獲取館藏資料的同時,也令圖書館在人力資源分配上,獲得最佳的效益。現時的圖書館自動化系統,是世界上最大型的雙語兼容圖書館自動化系統之一。透過圖書館目錄終端機、互聯網設施及多媒體終端機,以多媒體形式傳播的電子資訊已經成了圖書館資源中不可或缺的組成部分。公眾人士現時已經可以在偏遠的地點獲取圖書館的服務,包括透過電話或互聯網續借書籍,在互聯網上翻查聯機公眾檢索目錄、預約書籍及以電子郵件查詢資料等,為讀者提供了更大的方便。

  4. 大會堂公共圖書館、九龍公共圖書館、屏山天水圍公共圖書館、沙田公共圖書館、荃灣公共圖書館及屯門公共圖書館均提供全面的參考諮詢服務,大量的香港本地參考資料、一般參考資料、特藏資料以及透過互聯網提供的網上數據庫等,為廣大讀者提供商業上、日常工作、生活上及持續教育上的資訊需求。香港中央圖書館擁有最豐富的參考館藏,且是多個主要國際機構及本地書刊註冊組的特定藏書處。

  5. 推廣活動是圖書館服務中重要的一環。為推動讀者廣泛應用圖書館設施、鼓勵讀者養成終身閱讀習慣及引導讀者明瞭自由獲取最新資訊的重要性,公共圖書館會全年定期舉辦各種教育性及消閒性的推廣活動,包括閱讀計劃、兒童故事時間、書籍介紹、展覽及專題講座等。公共圖書館在推廣本地的文學藝術上亦扮演著重要的角色,包括定期舉辦各項有關文學的獎項及比賽、香港文學節及其他各式各樣的推廣文學活動等。

  6. 公元二零零一年五月十七日是香港公共圖書館服務一個重要的里程碑,位於銅鑼灣摩頓台的香港中央圖書館已經落成啟用。在啟用後,香港中央圖書館已成為本港最具規模的公共圖書館,館藏量可達到二百萬項。擁有最先進的資訊科技及數碼圖書館的設施,香港中央圖書館成為了香港公共圖書館系統的行政總部及主要圖書館,與及香港的主要資訊中心。除了基本的圖書館設施及服務外,香港中央圖書館亦會提供一個分有六個不同專科部門的中央參考圖書館,一個玩具圖書館,一個青少年圖書館,與及一些可供租用的場地設施包括展覽館及演講廳。